Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Rohit Sharma is the hero for Deccan Chargers - IPL 2009

Mumbai Indians spectacularly self-destructed to go down to Deccan Chargers by 19 runs in the IPL match at the Super Sport Park on Wednesday.

Rohit Sharma’s part-time off-spinners worked brilliantly with the abysmal batting to enable a lower-order collapse. He finished with four for six in two overs, including a hat-trick that featured Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh and J.P. Duminy as his victims.

Chasing Chargers’ 145 for six, Mumbai could manage only 126 for eight in 20 overs. The start of the chase didn’t augur well for Mumbai.

R.P. Singh held back his length to Sanath Jayasuriya who slashed for Ryan Harris to complete a spectacular catch in the deep. R.P. Singh nailed Sachin Tendulkar with a beauty in the next delivery.

Pinal Shah briefly made the best of his promotion to No.3, using his wrists splendidly to Dwayne Smith for a six over deep square-leg and slog thereafter. But part-time spinner T.S. Suman ensured Shah didn’t last long. Suman struck again in removing Dwayne Bravo.


Mumbai’s recklessness was consistent. Gilchrist turned to Rohit in the 16th over, who didn’t disappoint. Nayar swept and missed, and immediately, Harbhajan bottom-edged a short delivery to the stumps.

Duminy, who had until then batted with relative serenity — save a chance Suman spilled — tried clearing square leg, but found Gilchrist instead for Rohit’s hat-trick.

Gilchrist featured again two balls later, stumping Saurabh Tiwary for Rohit’s fourth wicket. The task by then was beyond the reach of Mumbai’s tail.

Earlier, Gilchrist chose to bat and began in earnest for Chargers. Gilchrist and Suman paid no heed to the early dismissal of Herschelle Gibbs as the runs piled on. Suman looked good before he was deceived by the bounce from Dwayne Bravo to edge it to wicketkeeper Pinal Shah.

Gilchrist’s rampant striking went on briefly. His trademark six over mid-wicket executed on one knee covered a massive 106 metres off Harbhajan Singh.

Some aggressive running nearly gave Chargers the edge going into the ‘strategic timeout’, before Gilchrist swung carelessly at Rohan Raje. The ball was pitched up on off, and Gilchrist was bowled. Rohit mishit Malinga for Bravo to play to the gallery with a catch-and-dive close to long-on. He departed for 38 with the score at 118.

Forced to do all the scoring, Y. Venugopala Rao struck a couple of boundaries, but Chargers could manage just 145, which at that stage looked gettable.

Chargers’ Pragyan Ojha was forced to miss out after an ankle injury. Deccan Chargers’ win moved the side up to No. 2, while Mumbai was at No.7.


Deccan Chargers: A. Gilchrist b Raje 25 (29b, 2x4, 1x6), H. Gibbs c Tendulkar b Kulkarni 0 (5b), T. Suman c Shah b Bravo 20 (13b, 1x4,2x 6), R. Sharma c Bravo b Malinga 38 (36b, 2x4, 1x6), D. Smith b Jayasuriya 16 (12b, 1x4, 1x 6), Y. Venugopala (run out) 28 (17b, 2x4, 1x6), R. Teja (not out) 4 (4b), R. Harris (not out) 5 (4b); Extras (lb-5, w-4): 9. Total (for six wkts. in 20 overs): 145.

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-37, 3-62, 4-85, 5-118, 6-137.

Mumbai Indians bowling: Malinga 4-0-24-1, Kulkarni 4-0-21-1, Harbhajan 2-0-23-0, Bravo 3-0-16-1, Raje 3-0-25-1, Jayasuriya 4-0-31-1.

Mumbai Indians: S. Jayasuriya c Harris b R.P. Singh 5 (7b, 1x4), S. Tendulkar b R.P. Singh 2 (4b), P. Shah c Smith b Suman 29 (19b, 3x4, 2x6), J.P. Duminy c Gilchrist b Rohit 52 (48b, 7x4), D. Bravo c Harris b Suman 13 (16b), A. Nayar b Rohit 1 (4b), Harbhajan b Rohit 0 (1b), S. Tiwary st. Gilchrist b Rohit 3 (5b), R. Raje (not out) 11 (7b), D. Kulkarni (not out) 7, (9b); Extras (lb-2, w-1): 3; Total (for eight wkts. in 20 overs): 126.

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-7, 3-60, 4-97, 5-103, 6-103, 7-108, 8-109.

Deccan Chargers bowling: Harris 4-0-25-0, R.P. Singh 4-0-19-2, Harmeet 3-0-28-0, Smith 1-0-13-0, Shoaib 2-0-19-0, Suman 4-0-14-2, Rohit 2-0-6-4.

Source : Hindu

No comments: