Friday, October 18, 2013

India Vs Australia, 3rd ODI, PCA Stadium, Mohali - Can India repeats the Jaipur win?

India and Australia are going to face each other today at Mohali, near Chandigarh for the 3rd ODI in the on-going seven match series. After the successful chase of 360 runs by India at Jaipur, the Indian team with Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan is full of confidence to repeat what they did in the previous match.

Although the Australian team was defeated in their last encounter, but for sure their batsmen and bowlers are in excellent form and the admirable total they put up in the last match says everything about their strength. Beiley’s team will definitely make attempt to turn the table against the Indian team in today’s Mohali match.

Looking at the pitch at Mohali, it seems to be a dull pitch unlike the Sawai Manshingh stadium pitch, where batsmen from both the team had a free day. Although, nobody knows whether Australia can make a comeback after their previous setback, but the Australian captain seems to be a happy man, at least looking at the pitch conditions.  

"It looks like it's got a little bit more grass on it. Whether that comes off, I am not sure about that. There is a little bit more life than the Jaipur wicket," the skipper said. 

But the stadium curator at Mohali Mr. Daljit Singh said "
The Mohali pitch is known to be fair to both bowlers and batsmen. It's not a 350 kind of wicket. A score of 270 to 280 will be a match-winning one, keeping in mind the help fast bowlers get during the evening,.” We have to wait until the match starts to see the actual results. 

While ahe Australian team will definitely attempt to recover from the Jaipur setback through the help of their able batsmen, but India may face problems in the bowling front. Indian captain Dhoni after the Jaipur ODI says "Our batting is looking good, but it's unfair to assume the batsmen are going to chase a 300-plus target every time,".
Dhoni had acknowledged in the earlier ODI that the team has to make improvement in the bowling front. He had said "We need to improve in bowling. The reason is that if you attempt a yorker and it becomes a low full toss, it's fine, but if it becomes a waist-high full toss, then the margin is too much. It's one area we are looking to improve,". 

At the pre-match nets the fast bowlers in the squad - Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Shami and Vinay Kumar - were seen practicing yorkers. Dhoni himself was the batsman at the other end. On occasions the bowlers did miss their length and the result was a big hit by the skipper.
Dhoni was seen talking to the five pacers at the end of the practice session. Saurashtra pacer Jaydev Unadkat had an extended session, bowling to the Indian top-order and the skipper, giving indications that he might be drafted into the playing XI. If Unadkat is given a chance to prove his mettle then either Ishant Sharma or Vinay Kumar will have to sit out. Ravichandran Ashwin, despite his poor performance in the solitary T20 and the first two ODIs, probably will feature in the first eleven as there were no signs of leggie Amit Mishra being given a choice. 

Meanwhile, the Australian team decided not to come to the ground. Skipper George Bailey, though, addressed a press conference and threw his weight behind the Aussie bowlers. "Personally, I like to back the group we have," the 31-year-old said. "I want to give them (the bowlers) a chance to get on top of that Indian batting lineup."

In the first one-dayer in Pune, India's bowlers leaked 304, while in the next game the Aussie batsmen managed to put up a total in excess of 350. While India, on the back of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, did chase down the massive target in Jaipur, the performance of the bowlers doesn't give Dhoni much confidence ahead of the third ODI. 

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 MS Dhoni, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Vinay Kumar, 11 Ishant Sharma/Mohammad Shami. 

Australia: 1 Phil Hughes, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Shane Watson, 4 George Bailey, 5 Adam Voges, 6 Glen Maxwell, 7 Brad Haddin, 8 James Faulkner, 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Clint McKay / Nathan Coulter-Nile, 11 Xavier Doherty.

No comments: